The Green Light

Dearest Friend,

I’ve had better days. But I’ve had worse, too.

giphy

All I want right now really – aside from food, because I’m in a perpetual state of Hunger – is an opportunity. How am I supposed to know if I’m to fail or to succeed if I don’t even get my chance to stretch my wings? My dad always scribbles in the books he gives me: Fortune favors the bold. And for most of my life, I’ve always tried to magic doors in places where there aren’t any.

Not this time though. This time I’m just a tiny boat floating in a sea of fog. No guide posts anywhere, no lighthouses. Just an oar and all of me, trying to make sense of why it’s so dark where I am.

A.

Leave a Reply

