Max Riemelt

This is Max Riemelt. I don’t know much about him yet except that he always drinks something during interviews, that he likes wearing plain t-shirts, and that he has intense, arresting eyes. A lot of people say his jaw line is to die for, but I don’t have much of an opinion on jaws, so I can’t say much about that.

max_riemelt

I got addicted to him because of the Netflix show Sense8, where he plays Wolfgang Bogdanow – a dangerous, party-loving, talent-show-watching petty criminal who ‘never seems to have any clothes on’. I’ll admit the man was too beautiful to ignore. But as I read and watched more about him, I realized there’s so much more to him than physical beauty and an irresistible charisma.

AA
(c) Max Riemelt during an interview with Tagesspiel. Link here. Translation mine.

He has a fearless filmography. He’s done so much since he started his acting career at the age of 13. He’s been in action movies, arthouse movies, mainstream romcom movies, and even cutesy Christmas movies where his sidekick is a Labrador. I’m especially drooling at the work he’s done in recent years. There’s Lichtgestalten, which is a definite must-watch, if only for the beautiful visual aesthetic and intriguing premise. There’s Auf das Leben, which seems to be one of those feel-good, life-affirming movies that also happen to be technically excellent. Oh, and there’s Freier Fall, which everyone on YouTube is gushing about.

It’s as if he gets bored if the material isn’t challenging enough.

5b3aa0ce474dc6e053c6e5abbd52c0fb

Stumbling into Max Riemelt’s work has made me extremely thankful that I sort of understand the German language. I’ve been studying it for more than four years now, and aside from a vague internal interest in the language itself, as well as interest in German politics, I’ve never yet found a reason to celebrate the fact that I can tell apart der, die, and das. But now, I can use my German to understand bits of Max Riemelt’s interviews! These are two of my favorites so far:

  • In which Max admits he’s never watched Titanic properly, that John Malkovich and Klaus Kinski are two of his favorite actors, and that he thinks Spongebob the Movie is the funniest.

  • In which he’s asked if he has an undervalued talent, and he replies that he has none. Instead, he says he thinks he’s overestimated. / Maxi. WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT.

Long story short, this is my version of a fangirl gush, and my announcement that Max Riemelt is getting his own tag in this blog because I’m planning to stan his career.

BB.jpg
(c) Max Riemelt during an interview with Stuttgarter Zeitung. Link here. Translation mine.

 

4 thoughts on “Max Riemelt

  1. Number 1. Congratulations to you, for your good translation of German. *wink*wink*

    Number 2. Congratulations to Max, for entering your life, for deserving a space on your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

